Afghanistan Page 1 Badakhshan 2 Badghis 3 Baghlan 4 Balkh 5 Bamiyan 6 Daikundi 7 Farah 8 Faryab 9 Ghazni 10 Ghor 11 Helmand 12 Herat 13 Jawzjan 14 Kabul 15 Kandahar 16 Kapisa 17 Khost 18 Kunar 19 Kunduz 20 Laghman 21 Logar 22 Nangarhar 23 Nimruz 24 Nuristan 25 Oruzgan 26 Paktia 27 Paktika 28 Panjshir 29 Parwan 30 Samangan 31 Sar-e Pol 32 Takhar 33 Wardak 34 Zabul Afghan Leaders Afghan Culture Funny Jokes Afghanistan's Photos

Find Out All About Ghazni

Map showing Ghazni province in Afghanistan

Ghazni is one of the thirty-four provinces of Afghanistan. It is in the east of the country. Its capital is Ghazni. The province lies on the important Kabul to Kandahar road, and has historically functioned as an important trade center between those two major cities.


  • 1 Political and Security Situation
  • 2 Natural Disasters
  • 3 Government
  • 4 Political and social geography
  • 5 History

Political and Security Situation

Like many southern Afghan provinces, Ghazni has a precarious security sitation caused by Taliban insurgents, who are reported to control most of the rural areas outside of the capital, and are heavily involved in attacks on provincial schools and government infrastructure. The province has avoided the outright warfare seen in other areas of Afghanistan such as Helmand Province and Kandahar Province, but that is due more to political expediency and the tactical plans of the NATO ISAF force than the existence of a stable security situation in the province. Ex-Governor Taj Mohammad was killed by millitants in 2006 after being appointed police chief of the province with a mandate to quell the power of the Taliban. On the same day there was an unsuccessful attempt on the life of the current Governor, Sher Alam Ibrahimi. There is an American Provinicial Reconstruction Team base located in Ghazni City.

In 2006, the provincial government banned the riding of motorcycles and scooters in the province, those being the preferred transportation of Taliban fighters. In response, the provincial Taliban banned the use of cars in the province. The dual bans led to the virtual elimination of all motor vehicle traffic in the province.

Natural Disasters

In recent years, Ghazni has been beset by droughts, heavy snow, and flooding, all at different times. During the periods of drought, many parts of the province, especially Ghazni City, saw heavy building in the flood plains of the province's rivers. Flooding caused by heavy rain and snow in recent years have taken heavy tolls in property in lives in these newly constructed areas.


The current Governor of the province is Sher Alam Ibrahimi.

Political and social geography

Ghazni is made up of 16 districts (district capitals are given in parentheses).

Nawur (Du Abi)100% Hazara
Ajristan (Sangar)97% Pashtun 3% Hazara
Malistan (Mir-a-Dina)100% Hazara
Jaghori (Sange-e-Masha)100% Hazara
Gelan (Janda)100% Pashtun
Nawa (Nawa)100% Pashtun
Muqur (Moqor)99% Pashtun 1% Hazara and Tajik
Qarabagh (Qarabagh)55% Pashtun 45% Hazara
Ab Band (Haji Khel)100% Pashtun
Giro (Pana)100% Pashtun
Jaghatu73% Hazara 27% Pashtun
Bahrami Shahid (Jaghatuy Ghazni)
Ghazni50% Tajik, 25% Pashtun, 20% Hazara, and 5% Hindus
Zana Khan (Dado)100% Pashtun
Dih Yak (Ramak)89% Hazara 11 Pashtun
Andar (Miray)100% Pashtun

statistics taken from

Map showing districts in Ghazni

Malistan, Jaghuri, Nawur, parts of Qarabagh, Dih Yak and Jaghatu are part of the Hazara area known as the Hazarajat.


This province was once the seat of the mighty Ghaznavid Empire, that ruled all of Persia and its eastern territories.

Some Sikhs and Hindus too live in Ghazni province. During the Taliban regime they fled the country, but with the current administration they have returned to Ghazni city.