Afghanistan Page 1 Badakhshan 2 Badghis 3 Baghlan 4 Balkh 5 Bamiyan 6 Daikundi 7 Farah 8 Faryab 9 Ghazni 10 Ghor 11 Helmand 12 Herat 13 Jawzjan 14 Kabul 15 Kandahar 16 Kapisa 17 Khost 18 Kunar 19 Kunduz 20 Laghman 21 Logar 22 Nangarhar 23 Nimruz 24 Nuristan 25 Oruzgan 26 Paktia 27 Paktika 28 Panjshir 29 Parwan 30 Samangan 31 Sar-e Pol 32 Takhar 33 Wardak 34 Zabul Afghan Leaders Afghan Culture Funny Jokes Afghanistan's Photos

Find Out All About Kapisa

Map showing Kapisa province in Afghanistan

Kapisa is one of the 34 provinces of Afghanistan. It is in the east of the country. Its capital is Mahmud-i-Raqi, and other districts include Kohistan, Nigrab and Tagab. The population of Kapisa is estimated to be between 262,000 and 270,000, although there has never been an official figure. The area of the province is 1,871 km2.


  • Alasay District
  • Koh Band District
  • Kohistan District
  • Mahmud Raqi District
  • Nijrab District
  • Tagab District


Agriculture is the most general and usual means of sustenance. Trades are made between the people in an ancient way of exchanging commodities on trade days (once a week) called Mila, which means "party" but is interpreted as a large gathering of people, having fun together with trade.


There is one hospital in the province. There was once a large textile company, which was destroyed during the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan; and one cinema, which was also destroyed. Recently a university named Albiruny University was established, with programs in engineering, medicine, law and literature. The number of girls schools has been very limited, but it is increasing through the cooperation of Charity NGOs.